Find all winners of international competition to promote the Greek Eleusis 2021 Cultural Capital event.

The awards for the European Animation Competition "An animated EUphoria", organised by Eleusis 2021 / European Capital of Culture and Animasyros International Animation Festival” were given on Sunday, September 22nd during the festive closing ceremony of the 12th Animasyros International Animation Festival ( held at the historic Apollon Theatre of Hermoupolis, Syros)

The competition was organised to promote the message of Eleusis 2021 ECoC on a European and global level. 28 films from five EU countries were submitted running for 3 pecuniary prizes.

Effie Pappa (My Stuffed Granny) won the first prize for her Transition to EUphoria stop-motion film. Self-described as a modern "Eleusinian mystery" dedicated to culture, it utilizes raw stone (human reshaped through Arts and Culture) to a shiny marble.

Collision leads to new patters to create the new, the “Good” (greek “εὖ“), while the female figure (Cultured society) becomes the catalyst to a prosperous sustainable future on a local and European level.

Watch the film:

2nd prize went to Other by Babis Alexiadis, and the 3rd Prize was given to Transition to EUphoria by Alexandros Simopoulos and Josef Kloos.

The Jury of the competition consisted of 9 members:

Maria Anestopoulou – Director of Animasyros / Financial & Administrative Director at Greek National Opera
Kelly Diapouli – Artistic Director of Eleusis 2021 / European Capital of Culture
Αnastasia Dimitra – Director of AKTO’s Animation & Interactive Media Department / Treasurer of the Greek branch of ASIFA
Panagiotis Gkiokas – CEO of Mentor cultural management company
Marineta Kritikou – Multimedia Director at ERT New Media Department
Ioanna Ntali – Digital Communications & Marketing Manager of Eleusis 2021 / European Capital of Culture
Maria Philippi – CEO of Eleusis 2021 / European Capital of Culture
Dan Richards – Film director and A+C Studios Founder (UK)
Dr. Panagiotis Stamatopoulos – Founder of Athens’ Hispanic Film Festival / Animasyros 12 Programme Coordinator

The full results:
1st Prize (€1.500): Transition to EUphoria, by Effie Pappa
2nd Prize (€500): Other, by Babis Alexiadis
3rd Prize (€500): Transition to EUphoria, by Alexandros Simopoulos and Josef Kloos

The Director of Animasyros, Maria Anestopoulou, presented the awards.

Want to read more free articles like this?

Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become our patron