For Animation Filmmakers:


  • Have an animation short to premiere/feature online, and need a comprehensive presentation (in the form of interview/review)? Zippy Frames is a trusted independent animation news website, which has featured a vast array of short animation films, from the more narrative to the outright experimental ones. Send us your film for consideration

⇒ Here's more info how to submit  


  • We address the story aspects of your animation film; we examine its theme, plot structure, characters, context, in accordance with your already stated idea and director's own intentions. We come up with solutions to story problems you face, and provide examples of fine practices for your project.

⇒ Here's more info


  • Animation festival submission seems both a laborious and a mindless process for independent animation filmmakers. We can make the process seem more structured, less laborious and more promising for your festival career of your film - handled by the same people who manage Zippy Frames (via Scheriaa Productions)

⇒ Here's more info

For Animation and Film Festivals & Events Professionals


  • Zippy Frames hosts an extended database of call for entries from animation festivals. A large part of its news roundup covers animation festivals and film festival news. However, not everything can be covered with the same depth and extent as it could (and should) have been. If you're interested in getting in talks and an offer for a festival promotion agreement, contact our Head Editor (vassilis AT zippyframes DOT com)


  • For festivals, conferences, film promotions, companies and products related to the animation industry, we offer reviews, interviews or video reports that promote your services or products in a creative and friendly way. For more info, email: info AT zippyframes DOT com



Wreck-It Ralph won 5 Annie awards (including  best animated feature) at the 40th Annie Awards bestowed by The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood. See the major winners.

wreckitralph-vanellopeApart from Best Animated Feature, the Disney feature won Annie Awards for directing (Rick Moore), writing (Phil Johnston, Jennifer Lee),  music (Henry Jackman), and Alan Tudyk for his voice acting as King Candy.

Dreamworks' Rise of the Guardians scored 2 wins (out of 10 nominations): Animated Effects (Andy Hayes, Carl Hooper, David Lipton), and storyboarding (Johanne Matte).

Laika's ParaNorman won 2 Annies: outstanding achievement in character animation (Travis Knight) and character design (Heidi Smith).

Pixar's Brave won for production design (Steve Pilcher) and editing (Nicholas C. Smith, A.C.E, Robert Grahamjones, A.C.E., David Suther).

The critics' favorite, Tim Burton's Frankenweenie (5 nominations), and Sony's Hotel Transylvania (8 noms) left empty-handed from the Annies. 

 Disney scored another victory with John Kahrs-directed, Oscar-nominated short, Paperman [watch it here], which won the Annie for best animated short subject.

Its Oscar rival, the UK stop-motion short, Head over Heels by Tim Reckart won the Annie for best student short film, a new addition to the Annie categories.

Major TV and video game awards:

  • Best Animated Special Production: "Despicable Me: Minion Mayhem" (Illumination Entertainment)
  • Best General Audience Animated TV Production for Preschool Children: "Bubble Guppies 'A Tooth on the Looth'" (Nickelodeon Animation Studios)
  • Best Animated Television Production for Children: "Dragons: Riders of Berk 'How to Pick Your Dragon'" (DreamWorks Animation)
  • Best General Audience Animated Television Production "Robot Chicken 'DC Comics Special'" (Stoopid Buddy Studios)
  •  Best Animated Video Game "Journey" (Sony Computer Entertainment America)

Juried awards honoring career achievement and exceptional contributions to animation were also awarded.

Three Winsor McCay recipients were selected by the ASIFA-Hollywood Board of Directors - Oscar Grillo, Terry Gilliam and Mark Henn for their career contributions to the art of animation; June Foray Award – Howard Green for his significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation; and Ub Iwerks – Toon Boom Animation/Toon Boom Animation Pipeline for technical advancements that make a significant impact on the art or industry of animation.

The Oscar-awarded Rango was the recipient of 4 Annie Awards in the 2012 awards ceremony. The 40th Annual Annie Awards took place at UCLA's Royce Hall, in Los Angeles, California.

View all the winners at Annie Awards official page.


Support Zippy Frames

Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become a Zippy Frames patron