For Animation Filmmakers:


  • Have an animation short to premiere/feature online, and need a comprehensive presentation (in the form of interview/review)? Zippy Frames is a trusted independent animation news website, which has featured a vast array of short animation films, from the more narrative to the outright experimental ones. Send us your film for consideration

⇒ Here's more info how to submit  


  • We address the story aspects of your animation film; we examine its theme, plot structure, characters, context, in accordance with your already stated idea and director's own intentions. We come up with solutions to story problems you face, and provide examples of fine practices for your project.

⇒ Here's more info


  • Animation festival submission seems both a laborious and a mindless process for independent animation filmmakers. We can make the process seem more structured, less laborious and more promising for your festival career of your film - handled by the same people who manage Zippy Frames (via Scheriaa Productions)

⇒ Here's more info

For Animation and Film Festivals & Events Professionals


  • Zippy Frames hosts an extended database of call for entries from animation festivals. A large part of its news roundup covers animation festivals and film festival news. However, not everything can be covered with the same depth and extent as it could (and should) have been. If you're interested in getting in talks and an offer for a festival promotion agreement, contact our Head Editor (vassilis AT zippyframes DOT com)


  • For festivals, conferences, film promotions, companies and products related to the animation industry, we offer reviews, interviews or video reports that promote your services or products in a creative and friendly way. For more info, email: info AT zippyframes DOT com



The race for the best European animated film has started.  The European association Cartoon unveiled its 5 nominated films for the coveted Cartoon D' Or.

tramCartoon D'Or is the pan-European award for the best animated short film of the year. Prize-winning films from major European festivals (Annecy, Anifest, Stuttgart, Zagreb etc.) compete to enter the 5 finalists, out of which the winner is selected.

The 2012 nominated films are:

  • Edmond Was a Donkey by Franck Dion (France / Canada, 2012, 15mn 4s) Prod: Papy3D Productions, Arte France, L'office national du film du Canada
  • Flamingo Pride by Tomer Eshed (Germany, 2011, 6mn 2s). Prod: Talking Animals, HFF Konrad Wolf
  • Oh Willy... by Emma De Swaef & Marc James Roels (Belgium / France / Netherlands, 2012, 16mn 53s). Prod: Beast Animation, Polaris Film & Finance, Vivement Lundi!, il Luster
  • Tram by Michaela Pavlatova (France / Czech Republic, 2012, 7mn). Prod: Sacrebleu Productions, Negativ Film
  • Zing by Kyra Buschor & Cynthia Collins (Germany, 2011, 7mn 31s) Prod: Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg


The 2012 jury was composed of directors Alain Gagnol (France), Esben Toft Jacobsen (Denmark) and Giuseppe Lagana (Italy)

The Cartoon D' Or award ceremony will take place during the Cartoon Forum in Toulouse on Thursday, 13 September.

Last year's winner was  The Little Boy and the Beast.



  • Aalterate, Christobal de Oliveira, France / Netherlands
  • Atlas, Aike Arndt, Germany
  • Body Memory, Ulo Pikkov, Estonia
  • Danny Boy, Marek Skrobecki, Poland
  • Dodu - The Cardboard Boy, José Miguel Ribeiro, Portugal
  • Duo de volailles, sauce chasseur, Pascale Hecquet, Belgium / France
  • Farmer Jack, Arjan Wilschut, Netherlands / Belgium / Ireland
  • L'envol du chat, Clément Doranlo, France
  • La boîte de sardines, Louise-Marie Colon, Belgium
  • La Veuve Caillou, Agnès Patron, France
  • Lumberjack, Pawel Debski, Poland
  • Moxie, Stephen Irwin, UK
  • Natasha, Roman Klochkov, Belgium
  •, Anne Kristin Berge, Norway
  • Romance, Georges Schwizgebel, Switzerland / Canada
  • Sem Querer, Joao Fazenda, Portugal
  • Seven Minutes in the Warsaw Ghetto, Johan Oettinger, Denmark
  • Slow Derek, Dan Ojari, UK
  • Story of Him, Pascual Perez, Spain
  • The Backwater Gospel, Bo Mathorne, Denmark
  • The Chronicle of Oldrich S., Rudolf Smid, Czech Rep
  • The Last Bus, Martin Snopek, Ivana Laucikova, Slovakia
  • The Mangel, Jan Andersson, Katja Kettu, Finland
  • The Origin of Creatures, Floris Kaayk, Netherlands
  • The People Who Never Stop, Florian Piento, France / Japan
  • Una furtiva lagrima, Carlo Vogele, Luxembourg


Support Zippy Frames

Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become a Zippy Frames patron