Cartoon D' Or 2012: finalists selected

tramCartoon D'Or is the pan-European award for the best animated short film of the year. Prize-winning films from major European festivals (Annecy, Anifest, Stuttgart, Zagreb etc.) compete to enter the 5 finalists, out of which the winner is selected.

The 2012 nominated films are:

  • Edmond Was a Donkey by Franck Dion (France / Canada, 2012, 15mn 4s) Prod: Papy3D Productions, Arte France, L'office national du film du Canada
  • Flamingo Pride by Tomer Eshed (Germany, 2011, 6mn 2s). Prod: Talking Animals, HFF Konrad Wolf
  • Oh Willy... by Emma De Swaef & Marc James Roels (Belgium / France / Netherlands, 2012, 16mn 53s). Prod: Beast Animation, Polaris Film & Finance, Vivement Lundi!, il Luster
  • Tram by Michaela Pavlatova (France / Czech Republic, 2012, 7mn). Prod: Sacrebleu Productions, Negativ Film
  • Zing by Kyra Buschor & Cynthia Collins (Germany, 2011, 7mn 31s) Prod: Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg


The 2012 jury was composed of directors Alain Gagnol (France), Esben Toft Jacobsen (Denmark) and Giuseppe Lagana (Italy)

The Cartoon D' Or award ceremony will take place during the Cartoon Forum in Toulouse on Thursday, 13 September.

Last year's winner was  The Little Boy and the Beast.



  • Aalterate, Christobal de Oliveira, France / Netherlands
  • Atlas, Aike Arndt, Germany
  • Body Memory, Ulo Pikkov, Estonia
  • Danny Boy, Marek Skrobecki, Poland
  • Dodu - The Cardboard Boy, José Miguel Ribeiro, Portugal
  • Duo de volailles, sauce chasseur, Pascale Hecquet, Belgium / France
  • Farmer Jack, Arjan Wilschut, Netherlands / Belgium / Ireland
  • L'envol du chat, Clément Doranlo, France
  • La boîte de sardines, Louise-Marie Colon, Belgium
  • La Veuve Caillou, Agnès Patron, France
  • Lumberjack, Pawel Debski, Poland
  • Moxie, Stephen Irwin, UK
  • Natasha, Roman Klochkov, Belgium
  • PL.ink, Anne Kristin Berge, Norway
  • Romance, Georges Schwizgebel, Switzerland / Canada
  • Sem Querer, Joao Fazenda, Portugal
  • Seven Minutes in the Warsaw Ghetto, Johan Oettinger, Denmark
  • Slow Derek, Dan Ojari, UK
  • Story of Him, Pascual Perez, Spain
  • The Backwater Gospel, Bo Mathorne, Denmark
  • The Chronicle of Oldrich S., Rudolf Smid, Czech Rep
  • The Last Bus, Martin Snopek, Ivana Laucikova, Slovakia
  • The Mangel, Jan Andersson, Katja Kettu, Finland
  • The Origin of Creatures, Floris Kaayk, Netherlands
  • The People Who Never Stop, Florian Piento, France / Japan
  • Una furtiva lagrima, Carlo Vogele, Luxembourg

Read More About:

Related Articles


Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links