Among the Black Waves, Decorado Take Home 2017 Anima Awards

Among the Black Waves, Decorado Take Home 2017 Anima Awards

 The 36th Brussels International Animation Film Festival, Anima 2017, came to a close on Sunday evening with an attendance that greatly exceeded the record of 42,000 visitors reached last year.

The international jury - made up of Rémi Durin (Enclume Animation, BE), Graham Annable (LAIKA, US) and Annettte Schindler (Fantoche, CH) - decided to award the Anima 2017 Grand Prix to the Russian short film Among the Black Waves by Anna Budanova, who received 2,500 Euros offered by the Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

 Among The Black Waves  Studio Ural-Cinema520

Among The Black Waves © Studio Ural-Cinema

The jury also gave its special award to Decorado, a short film by the Spanish filmmaker Alberto Vazquez and the best student short film went to the young Korean Jang Nari for My Father's Room.



The young jury, made up of representatives from the webtv Ceci n'est pas un Buzz and Ouftivi, rewarded La Cage by Loïc Bruyère as the best short film for a young audience.

The national competition jury – made up of Jeroen Jaspaert (BE), Christine Polis (BE) and Ligia Soare (Animest, RO) - awarded the best Belgian short film offered by the SABAM to Britt Raes for Catherine.



 The SACD award went to Julien Grande's film Pour une poignée de girolles, while the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles Grand Prix for the best short film was awarded to the duo Vincent Patar and Stéphane Aubier for their film La Rentrée des classes.

 The festival public's favourite was the Japanese film Your Name by Makoto Shinkai, which was awarded the prize for best feature and the audience award for best feature for a young audience went to Rabbit School by Ute von Münchow-Pohl. On the shorts' side, the public chose Theodore Ushev's Blind Vaysha as best short film, while the young viewers chose the French short film Jubilé from the MoPA school.

This year, Anima festival hosted 70 international guests coming from Japan, South Korea, the USA and the four corners of Europe.

Anima 2017 Closing Ceremony (c) FOLIOSCOPE


The Full Anima 2017 award list:


Jury Awards

Grand Prix Anima 2017 for Best International Short Film, provided by the Brussels-Capital Region (2500€): Among the Black Waves (Sredi chernyh voln), Anna Budanova, Russia

Special Jury Award: Decorado, Alberto Vazquez, Spain

Award for Best Student Short Film (softwarelicense TVPaint Animation 11 Edition Standard): My Father's Room, Jang Nari, South Korea
Special mention: Asphalte, Lisa Matuszak, France

Award for Best Short Film for Children (Youth jury : Ceci n'est pas un buzz and Ouftivi) (acquisition of broadcasting rights on Ouftivi) La Cage, Loïc Bruyère, France
Special mention: Jubilé, Coralie Soudet, Charlotte Piogé, Marion Duvert, Marie El Kadiri, Agathe Marmion, France


Audience Awards


Audience Award for Best Animated Feature, provided by FedEx (voucher worth 2.500€): Your Name (Kimi no Na wa), Makoto Shinkai, Japan

Audience Award for Best Animated Feature for Children: Rabbit School (Die Häschenschule - Jagd nach dem goldenen Ei), Ute von Münchow-Pohl, Germany

Audience Award for Best Short Film: Blind Vaysha, Theodore Ushev, Canada

Audience Award for Short Film for Children: Jubilé, Coralie Soudet, Charlotte Piogé, Marion Duvert, Marie El Kadiri, Agathe Marmion, France

Animation Night Audience Award for Best Short Film: Our Wonderful Nature - The Common Chameleon, Tomer Eshed, Allemagne


Partner Awards

BeTV Award for Best Animated Feature (5.000 € for acquisition of broadcasting rights): The Anthem of the Heart (Kokoro ga Sakebitagatterunda), Tatsuyuki Nagai, Japan

Creative Revelation Award (2.500 € provided by the Korean Cultural Centre): Blind Vaysha, Theodore Ushev, Canada

Press Award for Best Short Film: Fragments (Estilhaços), José Miguel Ribeiro, Portugal


Jury Awards

Award for Best Belgian Short Film, provided by SABAM (2.500€): Catherine, Britt Raes

Grand Prix for Best Short Film of the Fédération Wallonie -Bruxelles, provided by the Fédération Wallonie -Bruxelles (2.500€): La Rentrée des classes, Stéphane Aubier & Vincent Patar

Author Award provided by SACD (2.500€): Pour une poignée de girolles, Julien Grande

Partner Awards

BeTV Award (acquisition of broadcasting rights): 69Sec, Laura Nicolas

RTBF – La Trois Award (acquisition of broadcasting rights): Projection sur canapé, Violette Delvoye

Cinergie Award (Electronic Press Kit): 69Sec, Laura Nicolas


Related Articles



Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links