Acid Rain, Daughter, Marona Win BIAF Awards

Acid Rain, Daughter, Marona Win BIAF Awards

The 21st Bucheon International Animation Festival (BIAF2019, 18-22 OCT, 2019) had its award ceremony 18:00, 22(Tue) OCT. 2019.

Lee Minkyu (Adam and Dog) , Céline Devaux (Sunday Lunch) and Anna Budanova (Among the Waves), was the jury for short films. They  gave the BIAF Grand Prize to Acid Rain by Tomek Popakul.

The Jury Prize is given to another Academy Award® Qualified film, Mr. Mare by Luca Tóth. The stop-motion Memorable by Bruno Collet won twice both Audience Prize and AniB’s Choice Prize.

Juries in the feature films are Denis Do (Funan)  Itazu Yoshimi (Pigtails)  and Yoon Gaeun (The House of Us ) chose Marona’s Fantastic Tale by Anca Damian to take the BIAF Grand Prize for a feature film. The film also won the Audience Prize (feature films).

Zabou Breitman and Eléa Gobbé-Mévellec’s Cannes Un Certain Regard Premiere, The Swallows of Kabul,  received the Jury Prize and Music Prize for a best score.

In VR Films, 1st Prize, Jury Prize is given to Age of Sail by director John Kahrs, Student Academy winner, Daria Kashcheeva’s Daughter (who just arrived to Bucheon from L.A) won 1st Prize, Jury Prize and AniG’s Prize.

 Vincent Patar and, Stéphane Aubier won the TV film prize for  A Town Called Panic -The County Fair; Phuong Mai Nguyen, NGUYEN,, Charlotte Cambonde Lavalette, Sarah Saidan won a special distinction for Brazen, a series portraying 30 revolutionary women, adapted from the bestselling comic books Culottées by Pénélope Bagie (Episode “Annette Kellerman")

All BIAF2019 Winners:

  • Feature Film,Grand Prize: Marona's Fantastic Tale , Anca DAMIAN Romania/France /Belgium
  • Jury Prize:The Swallows of Kabul Zabou BREITMAN, Eléa GOBBÉ-MÉVELLEC France/Luxembourg Switzerland
  • Special Distinction Prize:Checkered Ninja, Anders MATTHESEN, Thorbjørn CHRISTOFFERSEN Denmark
  • Audience Prize:Marona's Fantastic Tale, Anca DAMIAN /Romania/France / Belgium

  • Short Film Grand Prize: Acid Rain, Tomek POPAKUL Poland
  • Jury Prize: Mr .Mare, Luca TÓTH Hungary / France
  • Special Distinction Prize:Winter in the Rainforest, Anu-Laura TUTTELBERG Estonia/Lithuania Mexico
  • Special Distinction Prize:Movements, JEONG Dahee South Korea
  • Audience Prize:Memorable, Bruno COLLET France
  • AniB's Choice: Memorable, Bruno COLLET France
  • Korean Short Film, Jury Prize: Movements, JEONG Dahee South Korea
  • Special Distinction Prize: No winner

  • Graduation Film Jury Prize: Daughter, Daria KASHCHEEVA Czech Republic
  • Special Distinction Prize: Me and My Magnet and My Dead Friend, LIU Maoning China
  • AniG's Choice: Daughter, Daria KASHCHEEVA Czech Republic

  • TV&Commissioned Film Jury Prize: A Town Called Panic -The County Fair, Vincent PATAR, Stéphane AUBIER Belgium / France
  • Special Distinction Prize: Brazen-Episode “Annette Kellerman", Phuong Mai NGUYEN,, Charlotte Cambonde LAVALETTE, Sarah SAIDAN / France
  • Online Film Netizen Choice: Rapunzel, Juan Pablo MACHADO / France
  • Netizen Choice: Amaryllis, Wong Ying KWAN, Ng Wing KIU / Hong Kong
  • VR Film Jury Prize : Age of Sail, John KAHRS, USA
  • Special Mention: Songbird, Lucy GREENWELL, Michelle KRANOT, Uri KRANOT, UK / Denmark

Special Awards Feature&ShortFilm
COCOMICS Music Prize:The Swallows of Kabul, Zabou BREITMAN, Eléa GOBBÉ-MÉVELLEC France/Luxembourg Switzerland

Special Awards Korean Feature&ShortFilm
Beans Road Prize:Princess Aya, LEE Sunggang South Korea
Unity Prize Korean Film (UnityPro License):Princess Aya, LEE Sunggang South Korea

Special Awards Short Film
DHL Diversity: The First Class, KIM Myungeun South Korea

EBS Prize: EBS(broadcasting copyright): Melting Heart Cake, Benoit CHIEUX, France

The 21st Bucheon International Animation Festival (BIAF2019) took place 18-22 Oct in Bucheon, South Korea.

Want to read more free articles like this?


Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become our patron


Related Articles



Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links