UK wins at Ottawa animation festival

The External World
by David O’Reilly (United Kingdom), won the best indepedent short animation prize. The film that critics hailed as 'a unique reconstruction of the universe' has also won the best short film prize at Venice Film Festival.

Phil Mulloy was the other UK-based animator that won the grand prize for Best animated feature with his film Goodbye Mr. Christie.

This year’s OIAF, which were held from October 20 to 24, was a tremendous success in a festival that attracts more than 27.000 film buffs, and art lovers around the world. The festival was packed with special screenings, sold out workshops and high profile networking events such as TAC (Television Animation Conference) and the “Students-for-Hire” Animation School Fair.

The members of the 2010 International Jury for the Short Program, Student and Commissioned Films are: Frances Leeming (Canada), Munro Ferguson (Canada), and Maya Yonesho (Japan). The members of the International Jury for the Feature Film Competition are: Atsushi Wada (Japan), Torill Kove (Canada/Norway), and Michaela Pavlatova (Czech Republic).

Read the complete award list:

Best indepedent short animation prize
The External World by David O' Reilly (UK)

The 2010 GRAND PRIZE for Best Animated Feature
Goodbye Mister Christie by Phil Mulloy (United Kingdom).

The 2010 Walt Disney Animation Studios GRAND PRIZE for Best Student Animation is:
· Prayers for Peace by Dustin Grella (U.S.A.): comments: “Moving and honest.”

The 2010 GRAND PRIZE for Best Commissioned Animation :
Going West by Martin Andersen and Line Andersen (New Zealand). comments “Conceptual sophistication and exquisite rendering.”

The 2010 Best Animation School Showreel
 Tokyo Arts University (Japan).

Honourable Mention
: Rhode Island School of Design (U.S.A.)

The 2010 Best Narrative Short
This is love by Lei Lei (China): comments '“Because we loved it.”

The 2010 Best Experimental/Abstract Animation
Little Deaths by Ruth Lingford. comments: “Describing the indescribable.”

The 2010 Adobe Prize for Best High School Animation
Where is the love by Dae Woen Yoon and Joe Woo Shin (South Korea). comments; “Careful drawing and good story.”

The 2010 Best Undergraduate Animation
LGFUAD by Kelsey Stark (U.S.A.). comments “Shows a lot of spirit.”

The 2010 Best Graduate Animation
Prayers for Peace by Dustin Grella (U.S.A.). comments:  “Moving and honest.”

The 2010 Best Promotional Animation is:
WWF ‘Heroes of the UAE’ by Josiah Newbolt and Ben Falk (United Kingdom).  comments “For its memorable twist.”

The 2010 Best Music Video
Blockhead ‘The Music Scene’ by Anthony Schepperd (U.S.A.). comment“Powerful, non-stop fluidity.”

The 2010 Best Television Animation for Adults
Midtown Twist by Gary Leib (U.S.A.). comments: “Jazzy, upbeat fun.”

Special Mention
Tord och Tord (Tord and Tord) by Niki Lindroth von Bahr (Sweden) Reason: “Warm and fuzzy, yet dry and dark.”

Special Mention
Fumiko no Kokuhaku (Fumiko’s Confession) by Ishida Hiroyasu (Japan)
Reason: “Amazing technique and energy.”

The 2010 Best Short Animation Made for Children
Cul de bouteille (Specky Four Eyes) by Jean-Claude Rozec (France).
Honourable Mention: Diversity by Anthony Dusko (U.S.A.)

The 2010 Best Television Animation Made for Children
The Gruffalo by Jakob Schuh and Max Lang (United Kingdom).
Honourable Mention: Spliced ‘Helen’ by Matt Ferguson (Canada)

The 2010 National Film Board of Canada PUBLIC PRIZE:
Sinna Mann (Angry Man) by Anita Killi (Norway).

The Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian Animatio
 Lipsett Diaries by Theodore Ushev (Canada).
Honourable Mention: Playtime by Steven Woloshen (Canada)

Read More About:

Related Articles



Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links