For Animation Filmmakers:


  • Have an animation short to premiere/feature online, and need a comprehensive presentation (in the form of interview/review)? Zippy Frames is a trusted independent animation news website, which has featured a vast array of short animation films, from the more narrative to the outright experimental ones. Send us your film for consideration

⇒ Here's more info how to submit  


  • We address the story aspects of your animation film; we examine its theme, plot structure, characters, context, in accordance with your already stated idea and director's own intentions. We come up with solutions to story problems you face, and provide examples of fine practices for your project.

⇒ Here's more info


  • Animation festival submission seems both a laborious and a mindless process for independent animation filmmakers. We can make the process seem more structured, less laborious and more promising for your festival career of your film - handled by the same people who manage Zippy Frames (via Scheriaa Productions)

⇒ Here's more info

For Animation and Film Festivals & Events Professionals


  • Zippy Frames hosts an extended database of call for entries from animation festivals. A large part of its news roundup covers animation festivals and film festival news. However, not everything can be covered with the same depth and extent as it could (and should) have been. If you're interested in getting in talks and an offer for a festival promotion agreement, contact our Head Editor (vassilis AT zippyframes DOT com)


  • For festivals, conferences, film promotions, companies and products related to the animation industry, we offer reviews, interviews or video reports that promote your services or products in a creative and friendly way. For more info, email: info AT zippyframes DOT com



The Swedish satire Simhall by Niki Lindroth won the Grand Prix of the 2015 Anima festival. See all winners.

The Brussels Anima fest made a surprise choice (even according to the winner of the Grand Prix) when giving out his main prize. The jury decided to award the  festival's Grand Prix to the Swedish filmmaker Niki Lindroth von Bahr for her short film Simhall (Bath House), full of deadpan humour.


The international jury, comprised of Stéphane Aubier (Filmmaker, Belgium),  Marco de Blois (Programmer-Curator at la Cinémathèque québécoise, Canada) and Eija Saarinen (Specialization Manager and Senior Lecturer in Animation at Turku University of Applied Sciences in Finland) raised her precise direction, the uniqueness of the universe, the simple and effective humour, the strength of the characters and the description of a social context.

The filmmaker takes away 2,500 Euros, offered by the Région de Bruxelles Capitale

Special mention was given to Storm hits Jacket (Tempête sur Anorak) by Paul Cabon and Vivement Lundi (producer), a crazy story of a cow storm.

The international jury awarded the prize for the best graduation short film to UK student Nicolas Ménard for his exquisite urban satirre Loop Ring Chop Drink, along with a special mention to Small People with Hats by Sarina Nihei, also from the UK.

The junior jury from Radio BoBo awarded their prize for the best short for a young audience to Le Vélo de l'éléphant by Olesya Shchukina (B/F), and also gave a special mention to the Franco-Belgian-Swiss co-productionDimitri à Ubuyu by Agnès Lecreux and Fabien Drouet.

Alexandra Hetmerová's Mythopolis received the audience award for the best short film, and the Anima public also chose Extraordinary Tales by Raul Garcia (Luxembourg) as best feature and The Nut Job by Peter Lepionitis (USA/CA/KR) in the young audience category. (The competition prizes of Anima festival for feature films are selected exclusively by the audience).

The jury for the national competition was comprised by Špela Čadež (Filmmaker, Slovenia), Jérémie Degruson (Filmmaker, Belgium) and Anton Roebben (Filmmaker, Producer, Belgium). They  gave the Sabam award to Het Paradijs by Laura Vandewynckel, and was particularly charmed by the director's sensitive approach to a current and universal topic.

They also awarded the Grand Prix of the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles to Dernière Porte au sud by Sacha Feiner, the SACD award to Deep Space by Bruno Tondeur and the TVPaint award for best graduation film to Hondenleven by Pieter Vandenaebeele from KASK in Ghent.




Professional short films

Grand Prix Anima 2015 provided by the Brussels-Capital Region (2500€): Simhall, Niki Lindroth von Bahr, Sweden

Special mention: Tempête sur anorak, Paul Cabon, France  

Press Award for Best Short:  provided by the magazine Be4MAg (500 €) Through the Hawthorn, Anna Benner, UK


Professional short films for children  


Best Children’s Short Film Award (Radio Bobo-jury) :  Le Vélo de l’éléphant, Olesya Shchukina, Belgium, France 

Special mention:  Dimitri à Ubuyu, Agnès Lecreux & Fabien Drouet, France, Belgium, Switzerland  


Audience Award for Best Short Film for Children:  Dimitri à Ubuyu, Agnès Lecreux & Fabien Drouet, France, Belgium, Switzerland  

 Student short films 

Best Student Short Film Award provided by TVPaint (softwarelicense TV Paint Animation 11 Edition Standard, worth 500€): Loop Ring Chop Drink, Nicolas Ménard, UK

Special Mention: Small People with Hats, Sarina Nihei, UK  

Audience Award for Best Short Film, provided by Fluxys (2.500€): Mythopolis, Alexandra Hetmerová, Czech Republic

Animation night short films 

Animation Night Audience Award:  Wurst, Carlo Vogele, Luxembourg   



Award for Best Belgian Short Film provided by SABAM (2.500€):  Het Paradijs, Laura Vandewynckel

Grand Prix Anima 2015 for Best Short of the Fédération Wallonie -Bruxelles, provided by the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles  (2.500€):  Dernière Porte au sud, Sacha Feiner

Author Award provided by SACD  (2.500€): Deep Space, Bruno Tondeur

Best Belgian Student Short Film  Award provided by TV Paint (TVPaint Animation 11 Edition Standard license, worth 500 €):  Hondenleven, Pieter Vandenabeele

 RTBF – La Trois Award (acquisition of broadcasting rights):  Dernière Porte au sud, Sacha Feiner

BeTV Award (1.000 € for acquisition of broadcasting rights): Hondenleven, Pieter Vandenabeele

Cinergie Award (Electronic Press Kit): Deep Space, Bruno Tondeur



Audience Award for Best Animated Feature, provided by FedEx (voucher worth 2.500€):  Extraordinary Tales, Raul Garcia, Luxembourg, Espagne, USA

 Audience Award for Best Children’s Animated Feature:  The Nut Job, Peter Lepeniotis, USA, South Korea, Canada
 BeTV Award for Best Animated Feature (5000 € for acquisition of broadcasting rights): Giovanni no Shima (Giovanni's Island), Mizuho Nishikubo, Japan


Flagey Building, Studio 4 (Anima, Brussels)


Anima 2016 is set to take place from 5th to 14th February 2016.





Support Zippy Frames

Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become a Zippy Frames patron