Awards & Prizes

Decorado, Tiniest Man in the World, Dead Horses in the 1st Quirino Awards Nominations

Decorado, Tiniest Man in the World, Dead Horses in the 1st Quirino Awards Nominations
Selection and organization committee of the 1st Quirino Awards

The first edition of the Ibero-American Animation Quirino Awards (named after the Italo-Argentinian animation pioneer Quirino Cristiani) is already getting big from its inception. With 9 categories for films coming from 10 countries (a total of 54 films overall), the awards aim to unite Ibero-American production (obviously from both sides of the Atlantic), but also to look at the individual artists (animation design, music and sound design) which constitute the less-awarded aspects of the animation art and industry.

Understandably, Spain overall stands out with 21 nominations, with Mexico having a close following (12 nominations) and Brazil in the third place (6 nominations). All nominees were selected by Loïc Portier (France), Barry O’Donoghue (Ireland), Agnieszka Kowalewska-Skowron (Poland),  and Paco Rodríguez and Zulay Rodríguez (Spain).

In the short animation category, the meta-narrative Decorado by Alberto Vázquez competes with the stop-motion Dead Horses by Marc Riba and Anna Solanas, Non-Spanish entries include the 2016 Annecy -selected Way of Giants by Alois Di Leo (4 Quirino nominations overall), the eerie puppet fable Cerulia by Sofia Carillo (Mexico, 4 nominations overall), the Ecuador 3D computer animation entry Afterwok by Luis Uson & Andres Aguilar, and the Chilean 18-minute, 3D cat and dog relationship Here's the Plan by Fernanda Frick.

Best Ibero-American Animation Short Film:

  • Afterwork, directed by Luis Uson & Andres Aguilar. Produced by Matte CG, in collaboration with Uson Studio, Apus Estudios (Ecuador, co-production with Spain and Peru)
  • Way of Giants, directed by Alois Di Leo. Produced by Sinlogo Animation (Brazil)
  • Dead Horses, directed by Marc Riba & Anna Solanas. Produced by I+G stop motion (Spain)
  • Cerulia, directed by Sofia Carrillo. Produced by Nahuyaca Films (Mexico)
  • Decorado, directed by Alberto Vázquez. Produced by UniKo, in co-production with Autour de Minuit (Spain, co-production with France)
  • Here's the Plan, directed by Fernanda Frick. Produced by María José Barros (Chile)

In the feature film category, Tad the Lost Explorer and the Secret of King Midas (Enrique Gato & David Alonso, Spain) is an expected choice. The Annecy-selected Ana y Bruno (Carlos Carrera, Mexico) is also nominated, while the Israeli artist Alex Orrelle directs with Eduard Schuldt the Peruvian feature Condorito, The Movie.

Feature films

  • Ana y Bruno, directed by Carlos Carrera. Produced by Altavista Films, Lo Coloco Films, in co production with Ítaca Films, Ánima Estudios, Five 7 Media, Argos Servicios Informativos (Mexico)
  • El Angel en el Reloj, directed by Miguel Angel Uriegas. Produced by Fotosíntesis Media (Mexico)
  • Condorito, the Movie, directed by Alex Orrelle & Eduard Schuldt. Produced by Aronnax Studios, Pajarraco Films (Peru)
  • Deep, directed by Julio Soto Gurpide. Produced by The Thinklab, in coproduction with The Kraken Films (Spain)
  • El Libro de Lila, directed by Marcela Rincón González. Produced by Fosfenos Media, in co production with Palermo Estudio (Colombia, co production with Uruguay)
  • Tad, the Lost Explorer and the Secret of King Midas, directed by Enrique Gato & David Alonso. Produced by Telecinco Cinema, Telefonica Studios, 4Cats Pictures, Tadeo Jones y el secreto del Rey Midas AIE, Ikiru Films, Lightbox Animation Studios (Spain)

 Also check out the nominees for student films below: 

 Best Ibero-American Animation School Short Film:

  • All You Can Eat, directed by Manuel Perez & Paulina Galindo. Universidad de Artes Digitales (Mexico)
  • A Day in the Park, directed by Diego Porral. ESNE, Escuela Universitaria de Diseño, Innovación y Tecnología (Spain)
  • Tantalus, directed by Juan Facundo Ayerbe & Christian Krieghoff. UBA, Universidad de Buenos Aires (Argentina)
  • Vs Santa, directed by Raúl Colomer & Aitor Herrero. Barreira Arte + Diseño (Spain)
  • W.A.R.F, directed by Kylie Trupp. UDLA Universidad de las Américas (Chile)
  • We Are the Immigrants, directed by Catalina Matamoros. University of Southern California (Colombia, co-production with US

The Tiniest Man in the World by the always reliable Argentinian director Juan Pablo Zaramella (prod:  Les Films De L’Arlequin, JPL Films, Can Can Club) is nominated in the Best Ibero-American Animation Series Category.  A Parto's Agua Mole (Alexandra Ramires (Xá) e Laura Gonçalves, Portugal) is nominated in the Sound Design category.

Also look for the VR project The Invisible Hours (Raul Rubia, Tequila Works),  the videogame The Many Places of Mr. Coo (Nacho Rodriguez), and Microbian (Alberto Vázquez) in the innovative Work category.

The complete nomination list in all 9 categories:

The 54 nominated works will be evaluated by an international jury, which will select three finalist works in each category. The list of finalists will be published in the month of February. The first edition will take place on April 7th in the island of Tenerife (Spain).

  • Call for the Co-production Forum and Congress is still open

The Ibero American Animation Quirino Awards keeps the call opened to participate in the Co production Forum and the Internation Congress, both professional activities will take place on April 6th and 7th. The call for the Co production Forum, aimed at companies, producers or Ibero American television channels or with an interest in Ibero America, it’s open until January 25th. The meeting will bring together professionals from the region in B2B meetings, round tables and presentations of the condition of the industry in different territories.

  • Call for Ibero-American Congress

The International Congress, which seeks to promote an interdisciplinary exchange between the academic studies and the profession around animation and technology, receives proposals until January 24th. The event will count with the special participation of the animation historian, teacher and writer Giannalberto Bendazzi, who will give the opening conference on April 6th.

Ibero-American Animation Quirino Awards are named in tribute of the creator of the first feature length animation film in history, the Italian-Argentinean Quirino Cristiani. The main sponsor of the Quirino Awards is the Tourism department of Tenerife, with the collaboration of the Tenerife Adán Martín Auditorium, as well as some of the Mexico’s Pixelatl Festival of Animation, Video Games and Comics of Cuernavaca and Spain 3D Wire, International Animation, Video Games and New Media Market. The first edition will take place on April 7th in the island of Tenerife (Spain).

Related Articles


Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links