Awards & Prizes

Animation Finalists at the 2014 Student Academy Awards

ampas-logoForty-one students from 23 U.S. colleges and universities as well as 10 students from foreign universities have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 41st Student Academy Awards competition.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.

U.S. students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories.

Review the full list in animation:

Animation (US finalists)

  • "Baxter," Ty Coyle, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
  • "Goodnight Boon," Jeremy Jensen, New York University
  • "Higher Sky," Teng Cheng, University of Southern California
  • "Marcel," Eric Cunha and Seung Sung, School of Visual Arts, New York
  • "Owned," Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah
  • "Roadkill Redemption," Karl Hadrika, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
  • "Two Ghosts," Amy Lee Ketchum, University of Southern California
  • "Umbra," Pedro Jesus Atienzar Godoy, Pratt Institute, New York
  • "Yamashita," Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California

In the alternative category, 3 animation films have been selected.

Daniel Sherra's Oscillate (School of Visual Arts, New York) competes, along with Passer Passer by Louis Morton (University of Southern California, premiered at the Cartoon Brew Student festival), and Staircases by Steinar Bergoy Nedrebo (School of Visual Arts, New York)


Academy members will now vote to determine up to three winning films in each category. The winners, but not their medal placements, will be announced later this month.

 The winning students will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 7, at 6 p.m., at the DGA Theater in Hollywood, at which time the gold, silver and bronze medalists will be revealed. The 41st Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 7 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required (obtain at



Read More About:

Related Articles


Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links