Ernest and Celestine, Pinocchio, Kirikou at New York International Children's Film Festival 2013

The 16th New York International Children Film Festival (1-24 March) has announced its full slate and jury for the 2013 annual edition, in which 100 new films will be presented at  the largest festival for kids and teens in US.

The opening night of NYICFF features the César-nominated French feature film, Ernest et Celestine (Renner/Patar/Aubier dir.) [info-trailer]. The English-language version of another French feature, The Painting by Jean-François Laguionie [review] will have its world premiere at NYICFF.

The Enzo D' Alò new Italian, 2D Pinocchio [info-trailer] reworks the classical Colodi story, and marks the North American premiere for the film.

The Annecy-awarded Approved for Adoption (Laurent Boileau/Jung Henin) is an animated poetic and humorous documentary of the filmmaker Jung Henin and his adoption by Belgian parents after the Korean war.

A new Kirikou film by Michel Ocelot, Kirikou and the Men and the Women [info-trailer] is showcased, as well as the dramatic and exquisite story of a wild boy in danger in The Day of the Crows (Jean-Christophe Dessaint) [review].

Studio Ghibli's From Up on Poppy Hill (Goro Miyazaki)], also to be theatrically released by Gkids is another welcome addition to the programme . Mamoru Hosoda's Wolf Children, and Remi Bezançon's Zarafa are two other notable feature entries.

Six short  programs for ages 3 to 18, featuring the best short films from around the world, selected from over 3,000 entries. Jury-selected winners will be eligible for Oscar® consideration in animated and live action short film categories.
• Shorts For Tots – (Ages 3 to 6)
• Short Films One – (Ages 5 to 10)
• Short Films Two – (Ages 8 to 14)
• Flicker Lounge: For Teens & Adults Only – (Ages 12 to adult)
• Heebie Jeebies: Spooky, Freaky & Bizarre – (Ages 10 to adult)
• Girls’ POV – (Ages 10 to adult)


The NYICFF 2013 Jury:

• John Canemaker – Academy Award®-winning animator
• Geena Davis – Academy Award®-winning actor (The Accidental Tourist, Thelma & Louise)
• Tomm Moore – Academy Award® nominated animator/director (The Secret of Kells)
• Lynne McVeigh – Associate Professor of Children’s Media at NYU Tisch School of the Arts
• Matthew Modine –Award-winning actor (Full Metal Jacket, The Dark Knight Rises)
• Michel Ocelot – Award-winning writer/director/animator (Kirikou & the Sorceress, Tales of the Night)
• Dana Points – Editor-in-Chief, Parents Magazine
• Susan Sarandon – Academy Award®-winning actor (Dead Man Walking, Arbitrage)
• James Schamus – Award-winning writer/producer (Brokeback Mountain, The Ice Storm)
• Evan Shapiro – President, Participant Television
• Christine Vachon – Award-winning producer (Boys Don’t Cry, Mildred Pierce)
• Gus Van Sant – Academy Award® nominated director (Milk, Good Will Hunting)
• Taika Waititi – Academy Award® nominated writer/director (Two Cars One Night, Boy)
• Jeffrey Wright – Award-winning actor (Basquiat, The Ides of March)


View the complete programme of NYICFF 2013, and purchase tickets for the events at

Read More About:

Related Articles



Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links