Selection Results: Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2020

Selection Results: Fredrikstad Animation Festival 2020
Room with a sea view, Leonid Shmelkov

In 2020, 141 films were submitted to the festival, of which 67 films have been selected for the competition programme and will be screened in Fredrikstad on 22- 25 October. For the first time, all Nordic-Baltic countries are represented in the competition programme, and more than 50% of the films in the categories for short and student films have female directors. x is the leading animation festival in the Nordic region, and has in 2020 been held in Fredrikstad for 20 years. One of the cornerstones of the festival is the Nordic-Baltic animated short film competition, with the awarding of the prize known as the Golden Gunnar. .

The Nordic-Baltic animation community is a vibrant industry characterized by both high artistic quality and professionalism. This year's program is strong and shows the diversity and quality of the Nordic-Baltic animation industry. With so many talented young filmmakers, we have a lot to look forward to in the years to come - Anders Narverud Moen, Fredrikstad Animation Festival director

The following films have been selected for this year's festival:

Competition programme Nordic-Baltic short film

  • Cats vs. Progress (Jacob Stålhammar), Sweden
  • Cosmonaut (Kaspar Jancis), Estonia
  • Däncing düplös (Kristian Pedersen), Norway
  • Elsa and the Night (Jöns Mellgren), Sweden
  • Freeze frame (Soetkin Verstegen), Finland
  • Grandma's pancakes (Dominyka Adomaitytė, Vykintas Labanauskas), Lithuania
  • Let go) (Star Bazancir), Sweden
  • Mermaid In A Jar (Tomi Malkki aka Malakias), Finland
  • Mother didn't know (Anita Killi), Norway
  • Something to Remember (Niki Lindroth von Bahr), Sweden
  • Tales from the Multiverse (Magnus Igland Møller, Mette Tange, Peter Smith), Denmark
  • The assembly – interviews from the middle of everything. Part 2: "Shame, Violence & a Medium-Sized Dick" (Malin Erixon), Sweden
  • The Man and the Head (Nilas Røpke Driessen), Denmark
  • The Tomten and the Fox (Yaprak Morali, Are Austnes), Norway
  • The Wings (Riho Unt), Estonia
  • Transformation-pro Ali on an adventure (Sofie Edvardsson), Sweden
  • What Time Is? (Niina Suominen), Finland
  • Winter in the Rainforest (Anu-Laura Tuttelberg), Estonia, Lithuania
  • Yes-People (Gísli Darri Halldórsson), Iceland
  • Zara and the others - Miss Miss (Bjørn Sortland, Nils Johan Lund), Norway

Competition programme Nordic-Baltic student film

  • 100,000 Acres of Pine (Jennifer Alice Wright), Denmark
  • Amends (Mikkel Battefeld), Denmark
  • eh (Konrad Hjemli), Norway
  • Hijack 139 (Joachim Berg, Sondre Johre), Norway
  • Night Shift (Linda Stūre), Latvia
  • Oh Say Can You See? (Noam Sussman), Estonia
  • Pandiculation (Jakob Eiring, Konrad Hjemli), Norway
  • Pearl Diver (Margrethe Danielsen), Norway
  • Room with a Sea View (Leonid Shmelkov), Estonia
  • Shergar (Cora Mckenna), Denmark
  • Something Witchy (Arielle Demilecamps), Norway
  • Sommerregen (Oscar Jacobson, Julia Skala), Germany
  • Swarming Symphony (Elle Frankenberg, August Florén), Sweden
  • Touché (Sofja Gorelova), Estonia

Competition programme Nordic-Baltic commissioned film

  • Anis Don Demina - Naken (feat. Timbuktu) (Officiell Musikvideo) (William Eklöf Naderi), Sweden
  • Avhengighet (Bjarne Anmarkrud), Norway
  • Boy Pablo – Feeling Lonely (Julian Vargas), Norway
  • Chocolate EU (Sverre Fredriksen), Netherlands
  • DOA 2019 - (Departementets Omreisende Animasjonsfestival) (Ole Magnus Saxegård, John Christian Ferner Apalnes), Norway
  • Ernæring og diabetes (Stian Sollid Sydsæter), Norway
  • Extra – Døgnåen (Ole Magnus Saxegård), Norway
  • FOR - Supporting Audiovisual Authors (Kim Holm), Norway
  • Forbrukerland (Bjarne Anmarkrud), Norway
  • Frames for future (Bjarne Drageset Anmarkrud), Norway
  • Freia – Oppfinnerkontoret (Martin Engh), Norway
  • Gardener & Bumblebee (Ignas Meilunas), Lithuania
  • Gnist: en musikalsk anastrofe (Linda Fagerli Sæthren, Arne Berggren), Norway
  • Grandiosa - Frossen Kjærlighet (Martin Engh), Norway
  • Henther (Morten Marius Apenes), Norway
  • Homecoming Queen (Jenny Jokela), United Kingdom
  • Julen er magisk (Stian Johansen), Norway
  • Mannen som falt (Kristian Pedersen), Norway
  • Not Like The Others (Andreas Emil Lund), Norway
  • OsloMet – Teams (Magne Hage), Norway
  • Peili: Rauhanpiippu (Erkki Rämet), Finland
  • Plask (Netron AS), Norway
  • PWC - Se helheten i detaljene (Ole Magnus Saxegård), Norway
  • Regnskogsfondet – Soyaproduksjon (Ole Magnus Saxegård), Norway
  • Selvforstyrrelser (Julian Nazario Vargas), Norway
  • Sparks - One for the Ages (Chintis Lundgren), Estonia
  • Sterkere sammen (Endre Skandfer), Norway
  • Stortinget – DEMO (Ronald Kabíček, Magne Hage), Norway
  • TIFF 2020 (Torgeir Holm), Norway
  • Tittei og 3d animasjon i Minibarna (Rune Røsting), Norway
  • TONO(Morten Marius Apenes), Norway
  • Ugly history: Japanese American incarceration camps (Lizete Upīte), Latvia
  • Utøyastudien (Steph Hope,Trist og Traurig), Norway

Want to read more free articles like this?


Keep this professional animation journalism effort relevant and updated. Become our patron


Related Articles



Zippy Frames is the premier online animation journal promoting European and Independent Animation animation since 2011

[email protected]

Zippy Frames

Quick Links